Why I travel

As I finish packing for another trip, I realise that I am asking myself why do I travel. What is it that makes me want to go to new places, get lost, lose things, forget things, not know the language, not know what I am ordering. Why on earth do I do this?

My answer to this is simply this. Because I am not done yet. I have not experienced enough different cultures, been out of my comfort zone enough times, have not learnt enough about the world, learnt enough about other people, tried enough different foods/ I haven’t stopped questioning why things are the way they are, I haven’t seen enough things that take my breath away, I have not learnt enough yet.

I know that I am in a fortunate position to be able to travel as much as I do. I live in a location that makes it easy to get to a lot of places, I work in a career which allows for quite a few weeks of work each year, and I have a lot of friends who are willing to meet up with me or come with me to different places.

I go to places I teach about, so I can share my stories and photos and experiences. I go to places people I love have been, so I can talk to them about it and compare how it has changed. I go to places I never thought I would, because the opportunity appears and I take it. I travel to places from books I read, to make the images in my mind even more vivid. I see historic buildings, monuments, places where something important in world history happened. It is so much more enjoyable than a documentary or a text books.

I hope I will always seize these opportunities, I don’t think I will ever be done.

Leave a Reply

